The ducks

by joetwo

On a warm late summers evening

As the sun reluctantly sets, like a child way past their bedtime

I like to go down to the park

Sit on my favourite park-bench

Overlooking a peaceful urban pond

Turn on the easy listening on my I-Pod

And watch the ducks rape each other for a while

Don’t be fooled by their sylvanian scene

The splash of water on wing, Loud quacks of alarm

All betray their drama

They fight, they win, sometimes they lose

Death, dominance, and sexual conquest, their goal, their prize

I sit and contemplate

As the ducks play their sordid games

Showing that no matter how, seemingly peaceful, how protected a place in

There is always something, something of the corruption of the world

That finds its way

Onto the still waters of an urban Irish park

