The Monkey from the Zoo

by joetwo

Come here while I tell

And I swear it is true

My mother once left my real brother behind

And took a monkey from the zoo

Sure they are hairy and not potty trained

They make such a terrible mess

But they are so cute and ever so smart

My mother had to confess

#

We grew up together this monkey and I

No closer siblings could be found

Though he would spend his hours in a tree

And I was stuck on the ground

If I cried in trouble he’d come in a bound

To make sure that I was all right

 And if I wasn’t then he’d drop his kacks

Then cover the bullies in shite

#

But monkeys as adults are trouble in spades

They hit scratch and bite

So we had for the safety of him and us all

Lock him in a cage for the night

But nights turned to days

Kept in the cage

The monkey didn’t like it

He started to rage

#

With him now in the teens

We knew what to do

Take my monkey half-brother

Back to the zoo

We snuck in there together

Late one dark night

Placed him with the monkeys

We knew it was right

#

Now at least every weekend

I visit the zoo

Go straight to the monkeys

To see how they do

I look at my half-brother

How well does he fare

Right beside my real brother

The one with no hair!

