Down the road

by joetwo

I look down the road
Past the fields of my youth
The factories where I toil through my days
Past hills and forests, seas and cities
Past all I ever knew
And I think of the wonders that might live there
How great the adventure
How much fun their lives might be
I feel jealously for them, mild contempt for the life I am living
And it sucks, each and every day, a little bit of flavour from my world
Oblivious all the while
To those poor souls
Past the fields, factories, hills, forests, seas, and cities
Staring back in my direction
In their own piteous drudgery
Thinking the exact same thing about me

 

image

Image courtesy of Wikipedia commons, taken by Eric Jones as part of the Geography Collection and licensed under the Creative Commons Agreement
################################################################
Written for the Light and Shade Challenge of Wednesday the 22nd of October 2014.

